How to Block and Unblock Someone on Instagram

How to Block and Unblock Someone on Instagram

Instagram intends to encourage more virtual connections and social contact, but that doesn’t guarantee that everyone will get along.

We all come across users who we would just rather not have on our feeds now and then. You have the same right to control who is a member of your virtual social circle as you do in real life, whether it’s a boss who checks in too frequently after work hours or an old flame who keeps posting passive-aggressive comments under your pics.

We’ll go over everything you need to know about blocking (and unblocking) people on Instagram in this post so you can keep your feed free of drama.

The best way to block someone on Instagram?

If you would like to get rid of an account from your feed for whatever reason — or limit their access to your material — blocking them is that the best choice. If it seems too drastic for the situation, there are other options. You can unfollow them, block them from posting a comment on your posts, and mute their content from displaying in your newsfeed.

How to block your Instagram followers

If you do wish to block one of your Instagram followers, follow the procedure mentioned below:

  • Open the Instagram app on your phone.
  • Using the Search option or scrolling through your list of followers, find the account you wish to block.
  • At the top-right corner of the screen, press the three horizontal dots.
  • Block is pressed.
  • To confirm, press Block once more.

How to Block and Unblock Someone on Instagram

How to Block and Unblock Someone on Instagram

Can you block someone on Instagram who’s not following you?

Yes. You don’t have to be following someone on Instagram to be able to block them. The procedure for blocking an account that does not follow you is the same as for blocking an account that does follow you. The instructions are as follows:

  • Open the Instagram app on your phone.
  • Using the Search feature, find the account you want to block.
  • In the top-right corner of the screen, press the three horizontal dots.
  • Block should be pressed.
  • To confirm, press Block once more.

How to Block and Unblock Someone on Instagram

Unblocking on Instagram

Even if you’re exact you want to permanently block an account, there’s a chance you’ll wish to unblock it in the future. When users are barred or unblocked on Instagram, they are not notified. After you’ve blocked the account, you’ll need to follow it again. Let’s look at how to unblock someone on Instagram with that in mind.

Unblocking someone on Instagram

If you decide to unblock someone on Instagram, the procedure is essentially the same as it is to block them.

  • Open the Instagram app on your phone.
  • To access your profile, click the person icon in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  • In the top-right corner of the screen, tap the three lines.
  • Go to Settings > Privacy > Blocked Accounts to view the list of blocked accounts.
  • To view the profile of the account you want to unblock, click on it.
  • In the center of their page, tap the Unlock button.
  • Finally, tap Unblock once more to confirm.

This will unblock the account; however, if you want to follow them again, you must do so manually.

Why am I unable to unblock someone on Instagram?

If you can’t find the profile of someone you’ve blocked — and thus can’t unblock them — it’s because they’ve decided to block you as well.

Two-way blocks are difficult to resolve because neither of you can use Instagram’s search feature to find the other. There are, however, a couple of workarounds.

The first method is to use Direct Messages:

  • Open the Instagram app on your phone.
  • To access your Direct Messages, press the paper aircraft icon in the top-right corner of the screen.
  • To start a new message, press the pencil icon in the top-right corner of the screen.
  • In the search bar, type their username.
  • Send a message to them (which they will receive)
  • At the top-right of the screen, press the information button.
  • Unblock is the option to choose.

This will add you to the person’s blocked list, allowing them to unblock you and allow you to mutually follow each other once more.

A third-party program called Cleaner for Instagram, which allows you to unblock any person can also help you get around a two-way block. You may also ban and unblock users in bulk with this free tool.

It’s worth noting that two-way block solutions may become obsolete as a result of Instagram’s multiple changes.

When you block someone on Instagram, what happens next?

Blocking someone on Instagram may appear harsh, and it is. When you block someone on Instagram, you basically hide from that person’s view of the app. They won’t be able to find your profile, posts, or Instagram Stories once you’ve blocked someone.

If you’re worried about the embarrassing moment when that person finds they’ve been blocked, you can rest assured that Instagram won’t contact them directly about their new restricted status. Buy real instagram views is a popular way to increase social media engagement. However, it is important to know if the buying process is legal and safe for your business.

What happens when you unblock someone you’ve previously blocked?

Things don’t just go back to normal if you have a change of heart and decide to unblock someone. Unblocking someone, for example, will not restore likes or comments that have been erased. Messages sent while they were blocked will never be delivered, and they will not begin following you again automatically.

Will they know if you unblock someone on Instagram?

It is conditional. When a person is unblocked Instagram does not send a notification. However, if you choose to follow them again, they will receive a notification that you have followed them, which may indicate that they were previously blocked.

Now that you’re aware of the potential consequences (and frustrations) of blocking someone on Instagram, you can make the best decision for yourself. If you’re hesitant to press the block button, remember that you can always mute them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.